Overground Collective and On The Roof: Thursday 25th July

This week at LUME we have a fantastic double bill. Join us for an exciting evening of music from these two ensembles! They have sent us over some background info to set the scene…


When Paulo Dias Duarte decided to run a big band, he decided first to get together a small group of players that would play and understand his music and then gradually start to add players until the big band was complete. The starting point was to play a piece commissioned to him by the Gulbenkien Foundation in 2005; ‘The Seven Deadly Sins’. Tonight they will play this starting point, and the band will be:

Paulo Dias Duarte – guitar and composition

Chris Williams – alto sax
Tom Ward – tenor sax
Geoff Bartholomew – trumpet

Ben Bastin – bass
Rob Pennel – drums
Gareth Wilkins – moog

Paulo has sent us a couple of videos of the big band in action:


On the Roof is a collaborative amalgamation of 12 musicians and 4 dancers- a group of individuals each with strong creative personalities and a range of experience in different artistic fields, all tied together by a shared love of improvisation.

Tonight we feature a distilled trio of musicians from the core of On The Roof who will be playing some fresh new original pieces with wide ranging influences: from the Mandinka of western Africa to the Rebetis of Greece; as well as their current favourite Mingus composition ‘Haitian Fight Song’, a dirty arrangement of Riverboat Shuffle, and perhaps a few others…

Lizy Exell – drums
Louis Thomas – bass
William Scott – woodwind and composition
Matt Gordon – composition

DSC_1849 copy